The 3 Biggest Misconceptions About Mobile Location Targeting

XAD | 10 / 02 / 2012


从黎明开始移动,广告商已经垂涎欲滴的想法的目标用户基于其当前的位置 — — 但介质的明确承诺,尽管许多人一直去利用这一点。一些人的误解威胁要把这些早年的移动,在取得的进展产业限制所以在努力继续我们的势头 — — 是几个这些神话正式被揭穿的时候。

1 。 “每个人都能做到位置定位
移动出版商有机会获得他们要求他们的用户的位置信息。此位置数据可以是一般作为一个城市,或者作为特定于任何给定的时间来捕获其确切位置的请求。更确切的位置,更有价值的是既给广告网络和移动广告客户。纬度/经度(纬度/长)是最准确的位置数据目前已经上市,但据估计,仅10 - 15智能手机流量的百分比有真正的纬度/长。虽然许多用户仍然感觉出在提供个人和实时位置信息,以占据智能手机应用程式的舒适度,出版商正在做他们能与位置数据,他们已经被允许什么,并传递到网络的信息。因此,并不是所有的这些信号实时反映的位置,如果我们要传递给大多数广告网络用户位置信号映射,我们就开始看城市或邮政编码,并波及远不的质心内的位置信号,集群出在每个目标区域。这意味着,在许多情况下,实时用户位置数据实际上没有被利用和用户位置正在被传递的广义数据假设。

因此,广告,你思想有助于对特定地区实际上送达 ; 而一般你目标区域的附近,以及一些周边地区。虽然这种缺乏定位精度是关于,真实犯罪在这里是的作战性能将被一个不比完美的运动模型的事实。作为该行业变得更多的教育对权力的位置数据,广告商和他们的消费者的期望也在扩大。因此广告网络的能力来利用可用的最确切的位置数据和相关和有意义的方式使用它会赢在移动这些早期阶段。

2 。 “地理围栏涵盖了所有我的基地
针对基于围绕任何给定的点了一组半径消费者 - 无论是一个确切的地址,邮编心等 - 通常被称为“地理围栏”这一众所周知的定位方法来更好地达到最相关的受众基础涉及到广告客户的目标和需求。广告是一个整洁的小围内的对象,并碰巧落在该虚拟围墙以外的任何消费者从广告投放排除。

任何人都不会看到有这种问题吗?

事实是,移动用户不断移动,因此他们的需求。因此,限制移动广告活动,以精确的几何形状(有时小到几百米),实际上可能导致你错过你真正的目标受众。我们的建议是通过测试和优化多个目标的距离(即1英里与5英里对比测试地理围栏的概念10英里等)。执行此操作时 - 请记住,不同的区域可能需要不同的大小围栏(即地铁方面应该有更严格的栅栏,其中更多的农村地区可能要求更大的覆盖)。除了地理围栏,试验的典型位置定位参数,比如邮政编码定位或城市,如果你的服务区支持这一点。谁知道 - 你可能会在你发现了什么惊喜。

因此,认为传统的地理栅栏外和去后你的听众,无论他们可能漫游,而不是假定他们的行为和位置将保持在"假定"某一半径的范围内。

3 。 “我的点击率很高,所以我的手机广告必须执行”
移动广告测量已经很长的路。我们不再缢缩到传统的在线广告的简单第一次单击分析。所以为什么广告商仍然在估测的成功的宣传活动,通过点击率?

手机广告用户正在寻找快速和相关信息,和移动广告策略的创新给了他们这一点。次要操作在单击到调用的形式下载地图和驾驶方向等,允许用户访问他们需要响应移动广告的信息。但对于广告主来说好处是双重的。当然他们受益于他们的广告和更多的点击移动用户兴趣更好。但二次行动也让广告商在他们的观众和他们接触水平的广告,广告 — — 一个度量远比平均中心强大的需求得到更好的感觉如果用户下载地图和行车路线,我们可以使一个合理的假设,他们在途中到该位置。但如果我们集中精力只是初始的 CTR,我们失去了这宝贵的测量。

与移动广告的一个常见问题是对接拨号,胖手指综合症,或点击欺诈。事实上,根据最近的报告TradeMob, 40所有移动点击%都是没用 。因此,开发和基于次要操作您的移动广告活动的测量是一个伟大的方式来获得意外过去参与的这些情况,并找出任何移动广告活动的真正价值。

因此,使用移动设备的位置是确定移动用户的搜索行为的关键因素。时与位置相关的搜索行为考虑到,任何移动广告宣传活动的关联性可以显著地增加,从而增加了活动的总体表现。

教育是移动行业持续进步的关键。只要这三个位置定位的误解正式揭穿社会,会有更多的采取它的地方。但随着技术的进步,所以将用户采用,在未来的几年中,我们应该看到与相关位置定位所提供的价值是完全板载的移动用户。

原创文章发布在 StreetFight 杂志

Portions of this page translated by Google.

The 3 Biggest Misconceptions About Mobile Location Targeting

xAd | 10/02/2012


Since the dawn of mobile, advertisers have salivated at the idea of targeting users based on their current location — but despite the clear promise of the medium, many have struggled to capitalize on it. A number of misconceptions threaten to confine the industry to the progress made in these early years of mobile, so in an effort to continue our momentum – it’s time a few these myths were officially debunked.

1. “Everyone Can Do Location Targeting
Mobile publishers have access to the location information they ask of their users. This location data could be as general as a city, or as specific as a request to capture their exact location at any given time. The more exact the location, the more valuable it is both to an ad network and to a mobile advertiser. Latitude/Longitude (lat/long) is the most accurate location data currently available, yet it’s estimated that only 10-15% of smartphone traffic has true lat/long. While many users are still feeling out their comfort level in providing personal and real-time location information to the apps occupying their smartphone, publishers  are doing what they can with the location data they have been allowed and passing that information on to networks. Therefore not all these signals reflect real-time location, and if we were to map the user location signals passed on to most ad networks, we would start to see clusters of  location signals within the centroid of cities or zip codes, and far less spread out across each target area. This means that in many cases, real-time user location data is not actually being utilized and user locations are being assumed by the generalized data being passed.

As a result, advertising you thought would be served to a specific area may actually be served in the general vicinity of your target area as well as some of the surrounding areas.  Although this lack of location accuracy is concerning, the true crime here is the fact that the campaign performance will be judged on a less-than-perfect campaign model.  As the industry becomes more educated on the power of location data, the expectations of advertisers and their consumers are also expanding. Therefore an ad network’s ability to harness the most exact location data available and use it in a relevant and meaningful way will win in these early stages of mobile.

2. “Geo-Fencing Covers All My Bases
Targeting consumers based on a set radius around any given point – be it an exact address, zip code centroid, etc. – is often called “geo-fencing.” This well-known targeting method is used to better reach the most relevant audience base related to an advertiser’s goals and needs. Ads are targeted within a neat little circumference and any consumers that happen to fall outside that virtual fence are excluded from ad placement.

Does anyone else see a problem with that?

The truth is that mobile users are constantly moving and so are their needs. Therefore confining a mobile ad campaign to an exact geometric shape (sometimes as small as a few hundred meters) may actually be causing you to miss your true target audience.  Our recommendation is to test the concept of geo-fencing by testing and optimizing several target distances (i.e. one mile vs. five miles vs. 10 miles, etc.).  When doing this – keep in mind that different areas may call for different size fences (i.e. metro areas should have tighter fences where more rural areas may call for larger coverage).  In addition to geo-fencing, test typical location targeting parameters such as zip code targeting or city if your serving area supports this.  Who knows – you may be pleasantly surprised at what you find out.

So think outside the traditional geo-fence and go after your audience wherever they may roam, instead of assuming their behaviors and location will remain within the confines of a certain “assumed” radius.

3. “My Click-Through Rate Is High, So My Mobile Ad Must Be Performing”
Mobile ad measurement has come a long way. No longer are we constricted to the simple first-click analysis of traditional online advertising. So why are advertisers still gauging the success of a campaign on the Click-Through Rate?

Mobile ad users are looking for quick and relevant information on the go, and innovation in mobile ad strategy has given them just that. Secondary actions in the form of click-to-call, download map and driving directions, etc., allow users to access the information they need in response to a mobile advertisement. But the benefit for advertisers is two-fold. Of course they benefit from mobile user interest in their advertising, and the more clicks the better. But secondary actions also allow advertisers to get a better feel for the needs of their audience and their engagement level with the ad – a metric far more powerful than the average CTR. If a user downloads map and driving directions, we can make a fair assumption that they are on their way to that location. But if we concentrate on just the initial CTR, we are missing this valuable measurement.

A common concern with mobile advertising is butt-dialing, fat finger syndrome, or fraudulent clicks. In fact, according to a recent TradeMob report, 40% of all mobile clicks are useless. So developing and measuring your mobile ad campaign based on secondary actions is a great way to get past these instances of accidental engagement, and find the real value of any mobile ad campaign.

Therefore, a mobile device’s location of use is a key factor in determining the search behavior of mobile users. When search behavior related to location is taken into account, the relevancy of any mobile ad campaign can significantly increase, which in-turn increases the campaign’s overall performance.

Education is the key to the mobile industry’s continued progress. As soon as these three common location-targeting misconceptions are officially debunked by the community, there will be many more to take its place. But as technology advances, so will user adoption, and in the next few years, we should see mobile users who are fully on-board with the value provided by relevant location targeting.

Original article posted on StreetFight Magazine