研究: 77智能手机的百分比驱动零售购买发生在商店

XAD | 05 / 22 / 2013


作为其一部分的“ 手机购买路径 “的研究,尼尔森,XAD和Telmetrics已经发布了有关在零售购物的移动设备的使用一些额外的结果。除此之外,研究认为,所谓的展示厅是“言过其实”而不是受到消费者的广泛实践。其他的研究,最近谷歌从,暗示相反。

移动路径对购买研究报告(A后续的类似研究中2012 )是基于网上的调查数据(N = 2 , 000 )和“尼尔森的智能手机分析面板行为观察6 , 000苹果和Android用户。“这项研究在移动活动在几个垂直市场,包括零售商场。

零售购物报告说, 42 %的用户完全依赖于他们的购买预研的移动设备。的这一发现更为广泛的研究 ,涉及垂直,是整体的“移动唯一的”号码是46百分。这是一个了不起的发现:将近一半的观众是不使用PC在购买前做研究。

尼尔森移动零售购物

研究发现,“超过一半( 55移动零售购物者的百分比)最终进行购买。“调查还发现,超过30的智能手机用户和百分之25平板电脑用户中有百分之迫切需求,并希望在一个小时内进行购买。然而,大多数的平板电脑购买者“有较深的研究目的是不再进货周期41百分之需要一个月或更长的时间来进行购买。“

大多数智能手机的购物者转化商店,而平板电脑的购物往往是在网上完成( 56百分)。报告说, 77基于智能手机的购买活动%的人出现时,脱机。

在消费者购买过程中移动的作用的共同认识是作为“最后一英里”中。本报告旨在消除这一概念,并认为,根据调查结果,移动设备用于在整个购买过程中购物。实际上,根据该报告结果,智能手机更经常在开始比在过程结束时使用。

尼尔森移动购物行为

这些调查结果,这是由其他研究呼应,保持移动广告显著影响。就像PC广告,移动既是一个品牌和直接回应网上平台。然而,它可以比在某些方面PC中的“更适当的”品牌和意识介质。

该报告旨在揭穿了智能手机购物者在商店不断展示厅的概念。它说,因为已经断言之前和存储访问之后展示厅(比较购物)实际发生,并没有那么多在商店过道:

Ø NLY 6智能手机用户进行百分比在店内他们最近的手机零售的搜索。 。 。移动购物者其实都是之前和店内的访问后使用比较购物他们的设备。

从早期的皮尤研究和由谷歌资助的其他研究表明,很多消费者做他们的智能手机“展示厅”(比较价格),而在商店,但是。

最后,正如先前已经报道​​,位置起着智能手机用户的决策和平板电脑购物一个显著的作用。平板电脑使用量主要发生“在家”,而不是“在路上”。下面是一些与智能手机和位置相关的调查结果:               

  • 大多数智能手机用户希望零售商将他们的位置的5英里( 57百分)
  • 24智能手机用户的%的人认为企业的地方接近成为最重要的搜索变量
  • 业务联系人信息是至关重要的;更多1在......之外3用户对零售商联系方式,专门寻找(电话号码,地址,方向)

这是多平台的现实营销的更多证据,现在面对。本研究和其他人强烈认为,所有的数字化平台必须解决的问题,并希望协调。然而,移动必须考虑至少为PC重要,因为大量的人都是依靠智能手机和平板电脑作为其主要的甚至是独特的购物工具。

点击这里下载手机购买途径零售报告

文章最初发布于 MarketingLand.com

Portions of this page translated by Google.

Study: 77 Percent Of Smartphone-Driven Retail Purchases Happen In Stores

xAd | 05/22/2013

As part of its “Mobile Path to Purchase” research, Nielsen, xAd and Telmetrics have released some additional findings about the use of mobile devices in retail shopping. Among other things, the research argues that so-called showrooming is “overhyped” and not that widely practiced by consumers. Other research, most recently from Google, suggests the opposite.

The Mobile Path-to-Purchase study (a follow up to a similar study in 2012) was based on online survey data (n=2,000) and behavioral observation from “Nielsen’s Smartphone Analytics Panel of 6,000 Apple and Android users.” The study looked at mobile activities in several verticals, including retail shopping.

The retail shopping report says 42 percent of users relied exclusively on mobile devices in their pre-purchase research. The finding of the broader study, involving more verticals, is that overall “mobile only” number is 46 percent. That’s a remarkable finding: nearly half the audience isn’t using the PC to do research before buying.

Nielsen mobile retail shopping

The study found that “more than half (55 percent) of mobile retail shoppers ultimately make a purchase.” It also found that over 30 percent of smartphone owners and 25 percent of tablet users had immediate needs and wanted to make purchases within an hour. However, most tablet shoppers “have longer purchase cycles with deeper research intent as 41 percent take a month or longer to make a purchase.”

Most smartphone shoppers convert in stores, while tablet shopping tends to be completed online (56 percent). The report says that 77 percent of smartphone-based purchase activity occurs in-person, offline.

The common perception of the role of mobile in the consumer purchase process is as a “last-mile” medium. This report seeks to dispel that notion and argues, based on the findings, that mobile devices are used for shopping throughout the purchase process. Indeed, according to the report findings, smartphones are more often used at the beginning than at the end of the process.

Nielsen mobile shopping behavior

These findings, which are echoed by other research, hold significant implications for mobile advertising. Like PC advertising, mobile is both a branding and direct response medium. However, it may be a “more appropriate” branding and awareness medium than the PC in some respects.

The report seeks to debunk the notion that smartphone shoppers are constantly showrooming in stores. It says that showrooming (comparison shopping) actually happens before and after store visits and not as much in store aisles as has been asserted:

Only 6 percent of smartphone users conducted their most recent mobile retail search in-store . . . Mobile shoppers are in fact using their devices for comparison-shopping before and after an in-store visit. 

Earlier research from Pew and other research sponsored by Google suggest that large numbers of consumers do “showroom” (compare prices) on their smartphones while in stores, however.

Finally, as has been reported previously, location plays a significant role in smartphone user decision-making vs. tablet shopping. Tablet usage mainly occurs “at home” and not “on the go.” Here are some of the findings associated with smartphones and location:               

  • The majority of smartphone users expect retailers to be within five miles of their location (57 percent)
  • 24 percent of smartphone users consider local proximity of the business to be the most important search variable
  • Business contact information is critical; more than 1 out of 3 users are looking specifically for retailer contact details (phone number, address, directions)

This is more evidence of the multi-platform reality marketers now confront. This study and others argue strongly that all digital platforms must be addressed and, hopefully, coordinated. Yet, mobile must be considered at least as important as the PC, given that large numbers of people are relying on smartphones and tablets as their primary and even exclusive shopping tools.

Click here to download the Mobile Path to Purchase Retail Report

Article originally posted on