新的数字讲故事:内幕贴士对于竿社会共享从#AWX

XAD | 09 / 26 / 2013


欢迎回到营销土地的覆盖面广告周刊2013道格·雷总裁,全球CARAT拉开帷幕日上午3在时代广场硬石餐厅,设置场景的品牌故事是如何经过多年的发展即将到来的讨论,在这里我们是在目前。

与他有舞台约书亚赫希 ,CTO,PUBLICIS KAPLAN THALER, 迈克尔·培尔 ,全球高级副总裁编程,XAD INC。 哈里Kargman ,CEO,KARGO和 JB Raftus ,CMO,GSD&M。阅读关于他们的对话的记录,完整的内幕外卖店和在数字时代有效的品牌讲故事的技巧。 (这是90 %字对字的成绩单, 10 %转述)。

新的数字讲故事 - 广告周2013

道格: 昨天,有相当多的关于数据的爆炸和如何我们需要将不同的数据集的讨论 - 如何一起第一方和第三方数据带来的价值消费者和参与他们正在与品牌做的事情。这些数据与新兴平台结合正在改变我们今天讲故事的方式。我们正在从单向的故事在告诉30第二个电视广告通过社交媒体多维双向讲故事。你干什么采取讲故事的新方式的优势呢?

乔希: 那么,你所提到的新兴技术和平台 - 的,其他部分是新兴的行为。这是什么数据和技术,让每个人都在讲故事方面做的就是看到人们是如何走的故事,是消费者用它做。什么是工作?什么是不?然后,它是关于是愿意改变的故事 - 进去的人在前进的方向 - 让消费者创造这个故事的一部分。我认为这是机会,现在,来优化你在做什么......但它也需要某种形式的反应性,敏捷......你必须要能够对那种数据的反应。

哈利: 不像在这个空间里有很多移动公司的,我们首先关注了很多的出版商。是什么让我们变得如此有趣,因为我们想告诉周围的品牌广告,这些故事是我们被出版商启用我们的技术与他们的网站和应用的整合面料。这使我们能够与品牌广告主合作,直接在网站的网页建立品牌渠道。在数字世界中,你可以把旧的内容,发布它,并通过聚集和策展内容讲述一个故事。

道格: 有这种想法创造价值,为消费者的 - 你实际上给他们,解决某些需要或提供实用的内容。

麦克风: 有过花了一些时间,因为雅虎和ESPN的出版商之一,它已经有趣的手机和广告之间的融合。位置是相对于桌面环境在移动环境极为不同。如果你是一个桌面上,营销人员可以假设你在家里(或工作)。你是静止的。但在移动,你出来一下。其能够触动消费者外出活动品牌是新的性感。为了能够成为内消费者的关注范围让我们十分开心。位置是我们重点关注 - 我们认为这是新的大数据。

JB: 作为一个品牌创意机构,我们是在讲故事的漏斗的顶部。我们正在做的一件事是一种在更广泛的范围来看看吧。爆炸发生之前,有真正的目的,然后平台。先从品牌的目的,一旦你得到钉和明确阐述,一切从跌倒的人。但现在它不只是目的和平台。这也是环境和需要的状态。这并不只是给你两件事要做,它给你无限多的事情要做。你必须讲品牌故事,在这么多的更多的方式比我们曾经不得不之前。这是一个祝福和诅咒 - 提供给您的是能够达到新的方式和人们需求状态这一新的礼物,但你必须创建正确的内容为那些需要的国家和背景。我们正在转化为能够告诉更深方式的故事。

道格: 我想谈谈环境......这是我们需要考虑到一个新的东西。但与此同时,我们有数据,使我们能够通过广告交换传递消息。你可以说我们可以按照消费者和理解他们的方案定位和人口统计的意图,所以...没有上下文真的重要吗?

麦克风: 语境的问题。想想看,在中央公园目标的人。在8上午,这个人可能是华尔街的慢跑者。中午,这可能是一个保姆。

哈利: 在一个与我们强生公司跑了肯塔基州竞选关键指标是这样的KY应用的下载次数。我们发现,强生公司拿出最好的方案核心的与他们的算法,以精细调整定位和只开最相关的人到该应用程序。他们胜过我们总下载量方面。但是,一个越来越重要的指标是有多少人返回到应用程序一旦下载了它,并经常使用它。在那里,我们的表现优于强生公司10 X,因为我们有一个坐在页面上与内容相关的量身定制的消息信息,当人们搜索的渠道,他们清盘实际读取的内容,因为它应用到他们的利益。而事实上,这些人的方式更紧密针对性的,因为上下文的元素。在那里他们发现并下载了那名在打开的应用程序并返回到使用方面更加活跃的应用程序产生的用户,这是从长远来看比别人谁下载的应用程序,从未使用过一个更有价值的用户这方面它。

道格: 所以,如果我们在下午针对华尔街亚军在早晨和一个保姆,它创建正确的内容和背景,让这消息更加努力地工作是很重要的。我们需要创造更多的内容比我们曾经不得不之前。从历史上看,客户和CMOS看一组特定机构,以能够创建自己的内容。我们是在合作伙伴的责任方面不同的时代内容创作的?谁是CMOS期待呢?你如何看到这种改变你的外部合作伙伴的角度去想内容创作的方式?

JB: 需要对内容正在迅速超越我们创造它的能力 - 把它在一起。上下文是讲故事的终极天赋。如果你知道某人是如何消费的东西和环境,你可以写一个更引人注目的故事。但对有需要的状态和消费者的背景下,能力为我们理解正在发生,以便比我们的填充管道能力快得多。这是一个比赛,迎头赶上。

乔希: 这是另外一个问题,有已经有不少帮助客户了解什么样的,他们应该制作内容 - 他们所拥有的资产是什么已经可以交付,他们怎么舍得......在我们与彩虹糖,其中有正在处理一个点3百万Facebook粉丝,他们没有做多少与。我们激活他们已经有了商业内容方面刚开始每天在Facebook上张贴,他们又增长10万球迷在一年。另一个客户想创建一个Web目标,推动了内容,但对品牌的连接有点单薄。我们必须帮助他们了解它的价值。它需要保护大量的第三方内容生成的。

点击这里阅读MarketingLand.com整个对话

Portions of this page translated by Google.

New Digital Storytellers: Insider Tips For Purpose-Driven Social Sharing From #AWX

xAd | 09/26/2013


Welcome back to Marketing Land’s coverage of Advertising Week 2013! Doug Ray, President, CARAT GLOBAL, kicked off the morning of Day 3 at the Times Square Hard Rock Café, setting the scene for the upcoming discussion of how brand storytelling has evolved over the years, and where we’re at presently.

On stage with him were Joshua Hirsch, CTO, PUBLICIS KAPLAN THALER, Michael Bayle, SVP Global Programmatic, xAD INC., Harry Kargman, CEO, KARGO, and J.B. Raftus, CMO, GSD&M. Read on for a record of their dialog, complete with insider takeaways and tips for effective brand storytelling in a digital age. (This is 90% word-for-word transcript, 10% paraphrased.)

New Digital Storytellers - Advertising Week 2013

Doug: Yesterday, there was quite a bit of discussion about the explosion of data and how we need to bring disparate data sets together –how first and third party data is bringing value to consumers and the engagement they’re doing with brands. That data combined with emerging platforms is changing the way we’re telling stories today. We’re moving from a one-directional story told in a 30 second television commercial to multi-dimensional two-way story telling via social media. What are you doing to take advantage of this new way of storytelling?

Josh: Well, you mentioned emerging technologies and platforms – the other part of that is emerging behavior. What this data and the technology allows everyone to do in terms of storytelling is see how people are taking the story and what consumers are doing with it. What’s working? What’s not? Then it’s about being willing to change the story – go in the direction people are moving in – let consumers be a part of creating that story. I think that’s the opportunity now, and to optimize what you’re doing… but it also requires some sort of reactivity, nimbleness… you have to be able to react to that kind of data.

Harry: Unlike a lot of mobile companies in this space, we focus a lot of the publisher first. What makes it so interesting for us as we try to tell these stories around brand advertising is we’re enabled by the publisher to integrate our technology with the fabric of their sites and apps. This allows us to work with brand advertisers and build brand channels directly in the pages of the site. In the digital world, you can take old content, republish it, and tell a story by aggregating and curating the content.

Doug: There’s this idea of value creation for the consumer – you’re actually giving them content that addresses certain needs or provides utility.

Mike: Having had spent some time as one of those publishers at Yahoo and ESPN, it’s been interesting to see the convergence between mobile and advertising. Location is critically different in the mobile environment compared to the desktop environment. If you’re on a desktop, marketers can assume you’re at home (or at work). You’re stationary. But in mobile, you’re out and about. Having brands able to touch consumers out and about is the new sex appeal. To be able to be within reach of consumers’ attention is exciting for us. Location is what we focus on – we think that’s the new big data.

J.B.: As a brand creative agency, we’re at the top of the storytelling funnel. One thing we’re doing is having a look at it in the broader context. Before the explosion, there was real purpose and then the platform. Start with a purpose of the brand and once you get that nailed and well articulated, everything falls from that. But now it’s not just purpose and platform. It’s also context and need state. That doesn’t just give you two more things to do, it gives you infinite more things to do. You have to tell the brand story in so many more ways than we ever had to before. It’s a blessing and a curse – you’re given this new gift of being able to reach people in new ways and need states, but you have to create the right content for those need states and contexts. We’re transforming to be able to tell stories in deeper ways.

Doug: I want to touch on context… that’s a new thing we need to take into account. But at the same time we have data that allows us to deliver messages through ad exchanges. You can argue we can follow the consumer and understand their intent with programmatic targeting and demographics, so… does context really matter?

Mike: Context matters. Think about targeting people in Central Park. At 8 AM, that person might be a Wall Street jogger. At noon, it might be a nanny.

Harry: One of the key metrics in a KY campaign we ran with Johnson & Johnson was the number of downloads of this KY app. What we found was that J&J brought out the best of the programmatic cores with their algorithm to finely-tune targeting and only drive the most relevant people to that app. They outperformed us in terms of total downloads. But an ever more important metric was how many people returned to the app once they downloaded it and used it regularly. There, we outperformed J&J 10X, because we had a tailored message seated on a page with contextually relevant information—and when people searched for that channel, they wound up actually reading the content because it applied to their interests. And in fact, these people were way more tightly targeted because of that contextual element. That context of where they found and downloaded the app produced users that were much more active in terms of opening the app and returning to use it, and that was a much more valuable user in the long term than someone who downloaded the app and never used it.

Doug: So, if we’re targeting a Wall Street Runner in the morning and a nanny in the afternoon, it’s important to create the right content and context that allow that messaging to work harder. We need to create much more content than we ever had to before. Historically, clients and CMOs look to a certain group of agencies to be able to create their content. Are we in a different era of content creation in terms of responsibility of partners? Who are CMOs looking to now? How have you seen this change the way you think about content creation in terms of external partners?

J.B.: The need for content is fast outpacing the ability of us to create it – to get it together. Context is the ultimate gift for storytelling. If you know how someone is consuming something and the context, you can write a more compelling story. But that ability for us to have the need state and the context of the consumer understood is happening so much faster than our ability to fill the pipelines. It’s a race to catch up.

Josh: It’s another issue that there’s been a lot of helping clients understand the kind of content they should be producing – what assets they have what can already be delivered, and how willing they are…  at one point we were working with Skittles, which had 3 million Facebook fans they weren’t doing much with. We activated what they already had in terms of commercial content and just started posting on Facebook every day, and they grew another 10 million fans in one year. Another client wanted to create a web destination to push out content, but the connection to the brand was a little thin. We had to help them understand the value of it. It required securing a lot of third party content generator.

Click here to read the entire conversation on MarketingLand.com