Geofencing Still Slow to Catch on with SMBs

XAD | 08 / 07 / 2013


随着技术的进步提高地理界线的效果,业内人士说,采用率仍然滞后,特别是在中小企业层面。

地理围栏允许营销人员绘制一个固定半径围绕一定的服务区及促销信息以达到在市场的消费者,通常是通过短消息服务,或短信。到目前为止,其用户的大部分是大型零售商,但最终场将包括更多中小企业,专家说。

对于这种类型的基于位置的移动营销的收入潜力是存在的,专家说,虽然缺乏教育阻碍更广泛地使用,对营销的能力,一个特定的地理区域内缩小其对消费者的信息和人口可能会改变这样广告主想达到的基于消息传递。

“广告主做它现在代表的早期采用者和都非常不什么,我会考虑的定义'商人',”资深分析师在BIA /凯尔内容副总裁迈克尔·博兰说。

目前,全国性大型广告主,如连锁店针对本地观众,应用地理围栏技术,博兰说,但并不像很多小和中小型企业这样做。

那些使用地理围栏技术的中小型企业,在广告购买往往是一个数字营销捆绑包括移动定位组件的一部分,根据何莫妮卡营销XAD副总裁。在这里,商家不买对自己的地理围栏,而是导致的成本的每次点击费用或每次通话率和说。

与其他广告媒体,博兰预测,利用有限的时间和营销资源的中小型企业很可能会迟到采用。博兰说,越来越多的大广告客户必须先拥抱地理围栏,此时它的使用将涓滴到小商店。

在地理围栏的主要创新的CEO - 更广泛地说,基于位置的营销 - 空间同意并说这种转变正在进行中。

“我们一直有两个重点 - 大约一半的业务来自民族品牌和把那些相同的,领先的技术,为中小企业的另一半基于位置的广告,”汤姆MacIsaac,神韵移动首席执行官说,在一封电邮。 “中小型企业市场拥有巨大的,尚未开发的潜力。”

地理围栏技术,兼容至少92手机% 。 5月公布,神韵的“的市场状态:位置供电的移动广告”QSR和休闲餐饮报告的结论谁使用地理围栏技术,围绕它们的位置广告客户3 。 9倍更有可能吸引市场的消费者到他们的商店。

该报告还发现谁地理征服商人 - 周围绘制竞争对手的位置的虚拟围栏日益流行的策略 - 是3 。 1倍更容易吸引这些消费者他们的砖和迫击炮。这些消费者也18 %不太可能访问竞争对手的位置,该报告说。

地理围栏起飞,博兰说,广告主必须重新考虑传统范围为基础的方法。无论是在电视,平面或数字,许多广告活动的评判印象和CPM的,所以说服广告主段的观众在有限的地理范围 - 然后再基于行为 - 是不容易的任务,博兰说。

“广告商真的习惯于在触及方面思考世界[因为]样的制胜法宝,”博兰说。 “移动位置定位,在某些方面违背了 - 尽管代价是它可以提供一个好处,它违背了传统的思维定势。”

相反,在移动网站购买的空间,营销支付一般在消费者点击呼叫,加载地图或从字面上在店里卷起。

“很多零售商还是看地理围栏或局部定位和思考非常小的企业,”何说。 “但问题的事实是,如果你使用像地理界线,它利用人们的不仅是近你和你的竞争对手的优势定位,但也可以让你当他们在其他地方的利益瞄准这一特定的受众,这真正成为国家的目标,只有更加有效。“

关键的障碍是市场营销教育,专家说。

“我不认为你会看到很多运动的关于中小企业”通过像地理界线技术,直到他们真正开始明白,可以与hyperlocally目标的显示广告外呼可以实现的价值,“何说。

直至深夜2011何说,最初XAD销售其针对本地的广告产品 - 包括它的地理围栏技术 - 直接到SMB,但花了很多时间的教学价值。中小企业,何说,主要是看重消费者的电话,而不是那些谁可能点击导航或恰到好处的位置走去。

XAD已经改变了策略,与大媒体公司合作,浩说。 XAD提供平台和技术,以配合媒体公司的销售团队,一般销售数字捆不是孤立的项目。

知识的障碍之外,神韵和XAD研究报告采用的位置定位的广告系列多的营销。

在2011 , 17使用地理围栏或地理感知神韵的运动%​​根据公司的“市场状况”(中,消费者发送基于它们靠近到一定位置的实时消息)技术, 2012评论;在2012 ,这一数字跃升至36 %。

点击这里阅读全文

Portions of this page translated by Google.

Geofencing Still Slow to Catch on with SMBs

xAd | 08/07/2013

As technological advancements improve the effectiveness of geofencing, industry insiders say adoption rates still lag, particularly at the SMB level.

Geofencing allows marketers to draw a fixed radius around a certain service area to reach in-market consumers with promotional messages, usually via short message service, or text messaging. So far, the bulk of its users are large retailers, but the field will eventually include more SMBs, experts say.

The revenue potential for this type of location-based mobile marketing is there, experts say, and although a lack of education has impeded more widespread use, the ability for marketers to narrow their message to consumers within a particular geographical area and demographic could change the way advertisers think about reach-based messaging.

“Advertisers doing it now represent the early adopters and are very much not in the definition of what I would consider ‘merchants,’” says Michael Boland, senior analyst and VP of content at BIA/Kelsey.

Currently, large national advertisers, such as a chain store targeting a local audience, employ geofencing technology, Boland says, but not as many small-and-medium sized businesses do.

Of the SMBs that do employ geofencing technology, the ad buy is often part of a digital marketing bundle that includes a mobile location component, according to Monica Ho, xAd’s VP of marketing. Here, merchants are not buying geofencing on its own, but rather leads at a cost-per-click or cost-per-call rate, Ho says.

As with other advertising media, Boland predicts, SMBs with limited time and marketing resources are likely to be late adopters. Boland says more large advertisers must first embrace geofencing, at which point its use will trickle down to smaller shops.

A CEO of a major innovator in the geofencing — and, more broadly, location-based marketing — space agrees and says that shift is underway.

“We have always had a dual focus — about half of our business comes from location-based advertising for national brands and the other half from bringing those same, leading-edge technologies to SMBs,” says Tom MacIsaac, CEO of Verve Mobile, in an email. “The SMB market has huge, untapped potential.”

Geofencing technology is compatible with at least 92% of mobile phones. Released in May, Verve’s “State of the Market: Location-Powered Mobile Advertising” QSR and casual dining report concludes advertisers who employ geofence technology around their locations are 3.9 times more likely to attract in-market consumers to their stores.

The report also finds merchants who geo-conquest — the increasingly popular strategy of drawing virtual fences around a competitor’s location — are 3.1 times more likely to attract those consumers to their brick-and-mortars. Those consumers are also 18% less likely to visit the competitor’s location, the report says.

For geofencing to take off, Boland says, advertisers must reconsider traditional reach-based methods. Whether in TV, print or digital, many ad campaigns are judged on impressions and CPMs, so convincing an advertiser to segment an audience to a limited geographic radius — and then further based on behavior — is no easy task, Boland says.

“Advertisers are really accustomed to thinking about the world in terms of reach [as] kind of their holy grail,” Boland says. “Mobile location targeting, in some ways, goes against that — even though the trade off is a benefit it can offer, it goes against that traditional mindset.”

Instead of buying space on a mobile site, marketers generally pay when a consumer clicks to call, loads a map or literally winds up in the store.

“A lot of retailers still look at geofencing or local targeting and think very small business,” Ho says. “But the fact of the matter is, if you employ targeting like geofencing that takes advantage of people that are not only near you and your competitors, but also allows you to target this specific audience while they’re at other places of interest, this truly becomes national targeting, only more efficient and effective.”

The key hurdle is marketer education, the experts say.

“I don’t think you will see a lot of movement in regards to SMBs’ adoption of techniques like geofencing until they really start to understand the value that can be achieved outside the call with hyperlocally-targeted display ads,” Ho says.

Until late 2011, Ho says xAd initially marketed its locally-targeted ad products — which included its geofencing technology — direct to the SMB, but spent a lot of time teaching value. SMBs, Ho says, mainly valued consumer calls, not those who may have clicked for navigation or just walked right in a location.

XAd has since changed its strategy, partnering with larger media companies, Ho says. xAd provides the platform and technology to complement the media company’s sales team, which generally sells a digital bundle and not isolated items.

The knowledge hurdle aside, Verve and xAd studies report more marketers employing location-targeted campaigns.

In 2011, 17% of Verve’s campaigns used geofencing or geo-aware (in which consumers are sent real-time messages based on their proximity to a certain location) technology, according to the company’s “State of the Market” 2012 review; in 2012, that number jumped to 36%.

Click Here to Read the Full Story