Why Your Mobile Site Shouldn’t Be “Flashy”

| 09/30/2011


Facebook的。谷歌。维基百科。没有一个是非常“性感”或过顶。它们的接口和功能,而基本与在自然界中简单,是有效的。为此,这些品牌已经成为印入我们的文化家喻户晓的名字和各自领域的顶部。

您的移动网站应该没有不同的设计。是的,“少即是多”的原则,当你意识到移动搜索进一步沿在购买过程中,并准备购买。那些优质的潜在客户可以通过您的店面在这个非常时刻行走。所以,当你设计你的移动网站,你必须照顾到每个设备的移动生活方式。请记住,移动行为是不同的,因为设备在他们能做什么限制(但他们可以做这么多)。

你的方法应以满足移动搜索的基础。一个主要障碍是的Adobe Flash。为了充分利用移动搜索,并在店内你想要的流量,你必须有一个移动网站,同时满足消费者的需求和行业标准。

我在这里提供的,所以它的移动搜索和易用性进行了优化如何构建网站的提示 - SANS Flash中。

不要做“华而不实”

有人说,你只需要为你的短信与消费者产生共鸣的小窗口。但随着手机,一切都愈演愈烈,时间线被缩短,因为消费者通常是在旅途中,限制了他们的耐心和关注。

使用Flash,您的移动网站将不必要的加载时间臃肿和兼容性问题,这两者都足以粘劝阻周围用户的困扰。这可以是本地企业奇耻大辱,考虑对移动的点击率不断超越这些标准Web的。

因此,让我们在使用Flash,长期以来被认为是创造一个更加互动的体验媒介设计的陷阱一探究竟。

苹果和桔子

设计标准的网站和移动网站既是苹果和桔子。一些基本的最佳实践应用一刀切。但是,Flash的架构妆真的是针对台式机和笔记本电脑。事实上,苹果 - 尤其是其iPhone和iPad - 已通过HTML 5 ,CSS和JavaScript代替Flash,这与Adobe的专有技术,是不是一个普遍采用的平台。换句话说,Flash将不会在上述苹果产品,这不幸的是,Adobe公司,包括移动市场份额显著部分工作。

制定标准

随着智能手机采用变得司空见惯更多的消费者将通过移动浏览器访问内容。但随着闪存设计疏远一些设备,那就是铺平了道路开放标准,这意味着用户可以访问所有的浏览器和设备的所有网站。换句话说,HTML 5和CSS将有可能成为新的标准,配备闪光灯保留在应用程序和游戏多媒体互动。

对开放这一举措,以及符合标准的功能性和设计,属于互联网的普遍性的框架内。展望未来,广泛采用功能将使无障碍可能,而不管设备。作为事实上,卓越IAB移动设备营销中心最近提出的移动富媒体广告界面定义,这是为了让活动和创意将不必被改写为每个应用或网络规范兼容的移动广告的尝试。最终,这将会为公司节省资金以及使出版商能够有一个一致的产品。

爬行速度,节奏快消

许多Flash网站都没有立即可见的,因为大多数手机浏览器都没有配备支持Flash。如果支持Flash中,机会是视觉体验还是欠佳,由于设备的内存限制,处理能力和带宽。此外,一些市场的互联网连接,特别是在农村地区,都达不到的速度,这意味着Flash网站的负载和/或运行时间将出现放缓。

这些障碍就这去消费者谁需要立即内容,这意味着他们很可能会放弃你的网站,并考虑购买目前主要的缺点。相反,遇到HTML更快的速度,并限制你的页面尺寸(不超过25千字节),因为有些数据由千字节计划费用。

搜索引擎优化

Flash和SEO没有看到眼眼。这是因为Flash页面不能正常的搜索引擎,其蜘蛛无法抓取包含闪存领域中的内容编制索引。基本上,搜索引擎无法读取任何不是文本有关。所以,你的网站可以有很酷的图形或动画,但它会失败的SEO测试。而alt标签为闪存领域提供一些SEO汁,注重基础知识的努力:在内容领域元数据和关键字丰富的副本优化。移动搜索还相当年轻,所以竞争激烈较小的移动网络(它接入到不同的指数比标准网络)最优,高网页排名,给你一条腿的竞争。

负担能力

成本加起来,如果你的网站使用Flash(你必须购买Adobe软件),但你没有工作人员进行内部闪存的专家。如果你的内容需要经常更新,这一点尤其重要。由于Flash的复杂的编码,您的内部团队将不得不外包任何手动更新一个设计师。相反,使用一个Flash的免费CMS让您的内部团队可以解决手工更新,从而简化了程序。此外,你保存藏在心里简单,离家近的时候会在年底还清。

移动改头换面

要创建一个移动网站,你有几种选择。一个是创造一个移动的唯一网站(http://www.domain.mobi/),其中许多CMS平台提供了作为模板。另一种是将其适应移动标准修改当前的网站。这就需要CSS样式的简单,精简版,然后引导移动用户通过自动代码版本。

然而,越来越多的移动网站所提供的选项来查看他们的同行(原全HTML网站),这意味着你的标准的网站也必须对移动网络进行了优化。这意味着没有闪光灯。其结果,常态正在建立的所有网站的响应于多个设备。由于在进步的高科技和设计,你现在可以符合你的编码来吸引用户的观看网上平台。

結論

随着我们在秋天,我们进入最后一个季度2011和节日。手机,尤其是搜索,将这个购物季比去年,在很大程度上是由于在市场中更大的移动设备普及率在底线一个更大的因素。相反,消费者无法从移动回避为基于位置的信息,这是促使电话和参观当地的店面 - 所有设置最终销售。在此基础上,对于本土企业在移动市场指数势。通过了解几个基本概念,你可以主动改变对未来繁忙的购物旺季时您的手机存在。

设计,而用户体验非常重要,应该是引人入胜,但简单的,尖锐的,基本的,诱人的,但不能过头。 Flash的能力令人印象深刻,但他们在移动的风景的地方是值得商榷的。你设计之前,权衡得失,考虑你的市场,不管你选择,记住重复销售的影响,积极的经验有。

最初由互动媒体连接(九月22 , 2011 )

Portions of this page translated by Google.

Why Your Mobile Site Shouldn’t Be “Flashy”

| 09/30/2011


Facebook. Google. Wikipedia. None are very “sexy” or over the top. Their interfaces and functionality, while basic and simple in nature, are effective. To that end, these brands have become infused into our culture as household names and the top of their respective fields.

Your mobile website should be designed no differently. Yes, “less is more” is doctrine when you realize that mobile searchers are further along in the buying process and are ready to purchase. Those qualified leads could be walking by your storefront at this very moment. So when you design your mobile site, you must cater to the mobile lifestyle of each device. Remember that mobile behaviors are different because devices are limited in what they can do (and yet they can do so much).

Your approach should be to satisfy the fundamentals of mobile search. A major impediment to that is Adobe Flash. To capitalize on the mobile-search and in-store traffic you desire, you must have a mobile website that meets both consumer needs and industry standards.

I’m here to offer tips on how to structure your website so it’s optimized for mobile search and usability — sans Flash.

Don’t Be “Flashy”

It has been said that you only have a small window for your messaging to resonate with consumers. But with mobile, everything is intensified, and the time line is shortened because consumers are typically on the go, limiting their patience and attention.

With Flash, your mobile site will be bloated with unnecessary load time and plagued by compatibility concerns, both of which are enough to dissuade users from sticking around. That can be a crying shame for local businesses, considering that click-through rates on mobile continue to surpass those of the standard web.

So let’s take a closer look at the pitfalls of designing with Flash, which has long been considered a medium for creating a more interactive experience.

Apples and Oranges

Designing standard websites and mobile websites is both apples and oranges. Some of the basic best practices apply across the board. However, the architectural makeup of Flash is really intended for desktops and laptops. In fact, Apple — particularly its iPhones and iPads — has adopted HTML5, CSS, and JavaScript in lieu of Flash, which as proprietary technology of Adobe, isn’t a universally adopted platform. In other words, Flash will not work on the aforementioned Apple products, which unfortunately for Adobe, comprises a significant portion of mobile market share.

Setting Standards

More consumers will access content via mobile browsers as smartphone adoption becomes commonplace. But designing with Flash alienates some of these devices, and that is paving the way for open standards, meaning users can access all sites on all browsers and devices. In other words, HTML5 and CSS will likely become the new standards, with Flash reserved for in-app and in-game multimedia interactions.

The move toward openness, as well as standards-compliant functionality and design, falls within the framework of the internet’s universality. Moving forward, widely adopted functionality will make accessibility possible, regardless of device. As a matter of fact, the IAB Mobile Marketing Center of Excellence recently proposed its Mobile Rich Media Ad Interface Definitions, which is an attempt to standardize compliant mobile ads so that campaigns and creative won’t have to be rewritten for each app or network. Ultimately, this will save companies money as well as enable publishers to have a consistent offering.

Crawling Speeds, Fast-Paced Consumers

Many Flash sites aren’t instantly viewable because most mobile browsers aren’t equipped to support Flash. If Flash is supported, chances are the viewing experience is still subpar due to limitations of the device’s memory, processing power, and bandwidth. Also, some markets’ internet connections, particularly in rural areas, aren’t up to speed, meaning load and/or run times of Flash sites will be slowed there.

Those hurdles present major drawbacks for on-the-go consumers who need content immediately, meaning they’ll likely abandon your website and purchase consideration. Instead, experience quicker speeds with HTML, and limit your page sizes (no more than 25 kilobytes) because some data plans charge by the kilobyte.

SEO

Flash and SEO don’t see eye to eye. That’s because Flash pages are not properly indexed by search engines, whose spiders cannot crawl the content contained within Flash areas. Basically, search engines can’t read anything that isn’t text related. So your site can have cool graphics or animations, but it’ll fail the SEO test. While alt tags provide some SEO juice for Flash areas, focus your efforts on the basics: optimizing with meta data and keyword-rich copy in content areas. Mobile search is still quite young, so the competition is less fierce for optimal, high-page ranking on the mobile web (it taps into a different index than the standard web), giving you a leg up on the competition.

Affordability

Costs can add up if your site uses Flash (you’ll have to purchase Adobe software) but you don’t staff an in-house Flash expert. This is especially important if your content needs to be updated frequently. Due to Flash’s complex coding, your in-house team will have to outsource any manual updates to a designer. Instead, use a Flash-free CMS so your in-house team can tackle the manual updates, thus streamlining the process. Furthermore, the time you save by keeping everything simple and close to home will pay off in the end.

A Mobile Makeover

To create a mobile website, you have a few options. One is creating a mobile-only site (http://www.domain.mobi/), which many CMS platforms provide as templates. Another is to revise your current website by adapting it to mobile standards. That entails a simpler, stripped-down version of the CSS style, and then directing mobile users to that version via automated code.

Increasingly, however, mobile sites are providing the option to view their counterparts (the original, full-HTML websites), which means your standard website must also be optimized for the mobile web. That means no Flash. As a result, the norm is being established that all websites be responsive to multiple devices. Thanks to advancements in tech and design, you can now conform your coding to appeal to a user’s viewing medium.

Conclusion

With autumn upon us, we head into the final quarter of 2011, and the holiday season. Mobile, particularly search, will be a bigger factor on bottom lines this shopping season than last, due in large part to greater mobile-device penetration in the marketplace. Conversely, consumers are not shying away from mobile for location-based information, which is prompting calls and visits to local storefronts — all setting up final sales. Based on that, there is exponential potential for local businesses in the mobile marketplace. By being aware of a few fundamental concepts, you can proactively alter your mobile presence in time for the busy shopping season ahead.

Design, while very important to the user experience, should be engaging but simple, sharp but basic, alluring but not overdone. Flash’s capabilities are impressive, but their place in the mobile landscape is questionable. Before you design, weigh the pros and cons, consider your market, and whatever you choose, bear in mind the impact positive experiences have on repeat sales.

Originally published by iMedia Connection (September 22, 2011)