移动本地广告:不只是尝鲜了

XAD | 06 / 03 / 2013


在过去的几年中,我已经做了一些斧子磨的是,缺乏位置的移动广告目标 - 这台式机的广告策略在很大程度上被移植到小屏幕,尤其是大品牌和机构的事实。

有很多原因,品牌和机构已经这样做了,包括“习惯爬行”和舒适性。这是没有什么不同的方式,第一辆汽车有缰绳;或者说基本上拍过一个人读剧本的广播式的格式,第一个电视广告。但是,除了惯性防止移动广告被更多的“地面行动”(我敢说母语),位置定位本质上是挑战。根据定义,这部分观众 - 这违背了品牌广告的核心原则:达到。

但最近几个月,我们已经开始看到一些这些习惯的打破,与新公司的移动没有​​为“忘却”什么到那里开始。 XAD 一个显着的例子 - 领先的标语“为尺度位置。”但最困难的部分移动本地广告网络的包是不是广告网络;它是通过购买方的;再次回到品牌和机构。但也有例外,这样我一起一月在街的“大品牌进入本地”面板在纽约打峰会的机构。 (街道战斗的新的白皮书, 在移动平台比邻商家定位 ,也包括在这个空间显着进步的球员。)

在更广泛的范围,位置采用正日益显示出它的脸。仅在过去的一个月里,我已经看到XAD和神韵流动,打破了传统竞选活动在他们的网络报告。 Marchex公司定期泵出高质量的数据。

上周刚刚公布的Verve的研究表明,在中快速即成餐馆(QSRs) 70活动的适用百分比位置定位。这些看到了2率和中单击X电梯3在客流量x提升。有趣的是, 55这些广告的应用%地理位置感知定位(DMA级), 28 %的人使用地理围栏和17 %的人使用地理定义受众定位。这意味着,位置定位,原产于移动(第二二)看到收养。

XAD发表在其移动设备的位置的数据分析结果相似报告上个月。不同但类似用语比神韵,地理精确的广告定位在其网络从增加27 % 至58 %,较去年同期。

http://blog.kelseygroup.com/wp-content/uploads/ScreenHunter_ 09 -可能。- 08 - 20 。 25 .JPG

除了广告投放,有目标,可以提高性能的位置的其他方面。地理定义的受众群体定位上面提到的就是其中之一。位置为中心的广告文案,并号召其他的。

XAD是对后者大了,最近在其Pinkberry活动中。它集的地理围栏1周围的商店位置英里 - 对于距离的战略性设计半径一般消费者将为此特定产品旅行。交替基于距离的促销活动则导致一个登陆页面最接近的位置,细节和选择保存为店内兑换优惠券。其结果是一2在第一个投资回报率Pinkberry点¯x增加2周活动。

有趣的是,Pinkberry和神韵的研究QSRs被定义的位置。他们也是低审议项目在速度和便利性(读:位置)可以胜过品牌的亲和力和其他因素在影响购买决策。这就是告诉什么位置定位当某些变量的地方可以做。但我希望看到广告商采用同样的曲线上升,垂直与较大的电子围栏,不同品牌的亲和力和较高的大件物品(如汽车经销商)。

除了经常确认(地理围栏)的位置定位战术和那些有时会被忽略(广告文案),这里隐藏着的另一个教训是位置的整体应用。它必须从开始到执行,以分析存在。

盗梦空间是关键,因为错误的运动目标,站在被低估的投资回报率背后抱着回去的品牌广告主谁拍的桌面式的目标(即展示)。如果正确的目标设置移动本地广告只能打到其商标。

文章最初发布于 StreetFightMag.com

Portions of this page translated by Google.

Mobile Local Advertising: Not Just for Early Adopters Anymore

xAd | 06/03/2013

Over the past few years I’ve done some axe-grinding about the lack of location targeting in mobile advertising — and the fact that desktop ad strategies have largely been ported over to the small screen, particularly among large brands and agencies.

There are lots of reasons brands and agencies have done this, including “habit creep” and comfort. It’s not unlike the way that the first automobiles had reins; or the first television ads that basically filmed the radio-esque format of a guy reading a script. But beyond inertia preventing mobile ads from being more “ground-up” (dare I say native), location targeting is inherently challenged. By definition, it segments audiences — which runs counter to a core principle of brand advertising: reach.

But in recent months we’ve started to see some of those habits break down, beginning with newer companies in mobile that don’t have to “unlearn” anything to get there. xAd is a notable example — leading a pack of mobile local ad networks with the tagline “Location at Scale.” But the hard part isn’t the ad networks; it’s the adoption of the buy side; again back to the brands and agencies. There are exceptions such the agencies that joined me in January for the “Big Brands Go Local” panel at the Street Fight Summit in New York. (Street Fight’s new white paper, Hyperlocal Targeting on the Mobile Platform, also covers notable progressive players in this space.)

On a broader scale, location adoption is increasingly showing its face. In the past month alone, I’ve seen reports from xAd and Verve Mobile that break down the campaign activity on their networks. Marchex pumps out quality data regularly.

The Verve study released just last week, shows that among Quick Serve Restaurants (QSRs), 70 percent of campaigns apply location targeting. These saw a 2x lift in click through rate and a 3x lift in foot traffic. Interestingly, 55% of these advertisers applied geo-aware targeting (DMA-level), 28% used geo-fencing and 17% used geo-defined audience targeting. This means that location targeting native to mobile (the second two) are seeing adoption.

xAd published similar results in its Mobile-Location Insights report last month. With different but comparable terminology than Verve, the geo-precise ad targeting on its network increased from 27% to 58% year over year.

Beyond ad placement, there are other aspects of location targeting that can boost performance. Geo-defined audience targeting mentioned above is one of them. Location-centric ad copy and calls to action are others.

xAd is big on the latter, shown most recently in its Pinkberry campaign. It set a geo-fence of 1 mile around store locations — a strategically devised radius for distance the average consumer will travel for this particular product. Alternating promotions based on distance then led to a landing page with closest location, details and option to save coupons for store redemption. The result was a 2x increase in the ROI for Pinkberry in the first 2 weeks of the campaign.

Interestingly, both Pinkberry and the QSRs in Verve’s study are defined by location. They’re also low-consideration items where speed and convenience (read: location) can trump brand affinity and other factors in influencing purchase decisions. That’s telling of what location targeting can do when certain variables are in place. But I expect to see advertiser adoption curves likewise rise in verticals with larger geo-fences, varying brand affinity and higher ticket items (i.e car dealers).

Beyond location targeting tactics often acknowledged (geo-fencing) and those sometimes ignored (ad copy), another hidden lesson here is the holistic application of location. It has to be present from inception to execution to analytics.

Inception is key, because the wrong campaign goals stand behind the undervalued ROI holding back brand advertisers who shoot for desktop-esque targets (i.e impressions). Mobile local advertising can only hit its mark if the right target is set.

Article originally posted at